This site is targeted at medical and radiology professionals, contains user contributed content, and material that may be confusing to a lay audience. Use of this site implies acceptance of our Terms of Use.

Binet staging system for chronic lymphocytic leukaemia

The Binet staging system is one of the two staging systems currently adopted in assesment of chronic lymphocytic leukaemia (CLL).

It classifies CLL according to the number of lymphoid tissues that are involved (i.e. the spleen and the lymph nodes of the neck, groin, and underarms), as well as the presence of anaemia or thrombocytopaenia

  • stage A
    • fewer than three areas of enlarged lymphoid tissue 
    • no anaemia
    • no thrombocytopaenia
    • * lymphadenopathy in the neck, axiallary, inguinal as well as the splenic invovement, are each considered as "one group," whether unilateral (one-sided) or bilateral (on both sides)
  • stage B:
    • three or more areas of enlarged lymphoid tissue 
    • no anaemia 
    • no thrombocytopaenia
  • stage C:
    • patients have anaemia and/or thrombocytopaenia regardless of lymphadenopathy

See also

Updating… Please wait.


Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert_accept Thank you for updating your details.