This site is targeted at medical and radiology professionals, contains user contributed content, and material that may be confusing to a lay audience. Use of this site implies acceptance of our Terms of Use.

Liver trauma injury grading

Dr Frank Gaillard et al.

The AAST (American Association for the Surgery of Trauma) liver injury grading system for liver trauma is

  • grade I  
    • haematoma: subcapsular, <10% surface area 
    • laceration: capsular tear, <1 cm depth
  • grade II  
    • haematoma: subcapsular, 10-50% surface area 
    • haematoma: intraparenchymal <10 cm diameter 
    • laceration: capsular tear, 1-3 cm depth, <10 cm length
  • grade III 
    • haematoma: subcapsular, >50% surface area, or ruptured with active bleeding
    • haematoma: intraparenchymal >10 cm diameter
    • laceration: capsular tear, >3 cm depth
  • grade IV  
    • haematoma: ruptured intraparenchymal with active bleeding
    • laceration: parenchymal disruption involving 25-75% hepatic lobes or involves 1-3 Couinaud segments (within one lobe)
  • grade V 
    • laceration: parenchymal disruption involving >75% of hepatic lobe or involves >3 Couinaud segments (within one lobe)
    • vascular: juxtahepatic venous injuries (inferior vena cava, major hepatic vein)
  • grade VI 
    • vascular: hepatic avulsion 

See also

Updating… Please wait.


Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert_accept Thank you for updating your details.