Lymphoma staging

There are a number of lymphoma staging systems for both Hodgkin lymphoma and Non-Hodgkin lymphoma including the Ann Arbor classification, Cotswolds-modified Ann Arbor classification, and the Lugano classification


Cotswolds-modified Ann Arbor classification

Accurate CT staging has been shown to have a significant impact on treatment and eventual clinical outcome.

  • stage I: one nodal group or lymphoid organ (e.g. spleen or thymus)
    • stage IE: one extranodal site
  • stage II: two or more nodal groups, same side of diaphragm
    • stage IIE: localised extranodal site with stage II criteria, both on the same side of the diaphragm
  • stage III: nodal groups on both sides of the diaphragm
    • stage IIIS(1): with splenic involvement
    • stage IIIE(2): with localised extranodal site
    • stage IIISE: both
  • stage IV: disseminated involvement of one or more extralymphatic organ (e.g. lung, bone) +/- any nodal involvement

Additional staging variables:

  • A: asymptomatic
  • B: presence of B symptoms (fever, night sweats and weight loss)
  • X: bulky nodal disease: nodal mass >1/3 of intrathoracic diameter or 10 cm in dimension
Lugano Classification

Content pending. 

Related articles


Updating… Please wait.


Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert_accept Thank you for updating your details.