Moyamoya staging (Suzuki)

Suzuki and Takaku first described moyamoya and its staging in 1969.

  • Stage I
    • "narrowing of the carotid fork" *
    • narrowed ICA bifurcation
  • Stage II
    • "initiation of the moyamoya"
    • dilated ACA, MCA and narrowed ICA bifurcation with moyamoya change
  • Stage III
    • "intensification of the moyamoya"
    • further increase in moyamoya change of the ICA birfurcation and narrowed ACA and MCA
  • Stage IV
    • "minimization of the moyamoya"
    • moyamoya change reducing with occlusive changes in ICA and tenuous ACA and MCA
  • Stage V
    • "reduction of the moyamoya"
    • further decrease in moyamoya change with occlusion of ICA, ACA and MCA
  • Stage VI
    • "disappearance of the moyamoya"
    • ICA essentially disappeared with supply of brain from ECA

* the description in inverted commas is that of Suzuki in the original paper. 

Updating… Please wait.


Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert_accept Thank you for updating your details.