Splenic trauma injury grading

The American Association for the Surgery of Trauma (AAST) splenic injury grading system is as follows:

  • grade I
  • grade II
    • subcapsular haematoma 10-50% of surface area
    • intraparenchymal haematoma <5 cm in diameter
    • laceration 1-3 cm depth not involving trabecular vessels
  • grade III
    • subcapsular haematoma >50% of surface area or expanding
    • intraparenchymal haematoma >5 cm or expanding
    • laceration >3 cm depth or involving trabecular vessels
    • ruptured subcapsular or parenchymal haematoma
  • grade IV
    • laceration involving segmental or hilar vessels with major devascularisation (>25% of spleen)
  • grade V
    • shattered spleen
    • hilar vascular injury with devascularised spleen

NB Advance one grade for multiple injuries up to grade III

See also

Related articles

Updating… Please wait.


Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert_accept Thank you for updating your details.