This site is targeted at medical and radiology professionals, contains user contributed content and material that may be confusing to a lay audience. Use of this site implies acceptance of our Terms of Use.

Staging of transitional cell carcinoma of the bladder

Transitional cell carcinoma of the bladder is staged using the TNM system (which has replaced the previously widely used Jewett-Scott-Marshall tumour staging system. It is very similar to staging of TCC of the renal pelvis and to staging of TCC of the ureter.

TNM staging

  • Ta - non invasive papillary tumour
  • Tis - in situ (non invasive flat)
  • T1 - through lamina propria into sub-epithelial connective tissues
  • T2 - into muscularis propria
    • T2a - only invades inner half of the muscle
    • T2b - invades into outer half of the muscle
  • T3 - invasion into perivesical tissues
    • T3a - microscopic extravesical invasion
    • T3b - macroscopic extravesical invasion
  • T4 - direct invasion into adjacent structures
    • T4a - prostate, uterus, vaginal vault
    • T4b - pelvic side wall and / or abdominal wall

Nodal staging is the same for TCC of any part of the urinary tract.

  • N0 - no nodal involvement
  • N1 - single node involved < 2cm
  • N2
    • single node 2-5cm or
    • multiple nodes all < 5cm 2-3
  • N3 - one or more nodes > 5cm
  • M0 - no metastases
  • M1 - metastases identified

Staging groups

Individual TNM stages can then be grouped 3-4:

  • stage 0 - Ta or Tis, N0, M0
  • stage I - T1, N0, M0
  • stage II - T2(a or b), N0, M0
  • stage III - T3(a or b) or T4a, N0, M0
  • stage IV
    • T4b, any N, any M
    • N1-3, any T, any M

Updating… Please wait.


Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert_accept Thank you for updating your details.