Weber ankle fracture classification

The Weber ankle fracture classification (sometimes Danis-Weber) is a simple system for classification of lateral malleolar fractures, relating to the level of the fracture in relation to the ankle joint. It has a role in determining treatment. 


  • type A
  • type B
    • distal extent at the level of the talar dome; may extend some distance proximally
    • usually spiral 
    • tibiofibular syndesmosis usually intact, but widening of the distal tibiofibular joint (especially on stressed views) indicates syndesmotic injury
    • medial malleolus may be fractured
    • deltoid ligament may be torn, indicated by widening of the space between the medial malleolus and talar dome
    • variable stability, dependent on status of medial structures (malleolus/deltoid ligament) and syndesmosis;  may require ORIF
  • type C
    • above the level of the ankle joint
    • tibiofibular syndesmosis disrupted with widening of the distal tibiofibular articulation
    • medial malleolus fracture or deltoid ligament injury present
    • fracture may arise as proximally as the level of fibular neck and not visualised on ankle films, requiring knee or full length tibia-fibula films (Maissonneuve fracture)
    • unstable: usually requires ORIF

History and etymology

This classification was first described by Danis in 1949 and later modified and popularised by Weber in 1972 2:

  • Bernhard Georg Weber (1929-2002), an orthopaedic surgeon: St Gall, Switzerland
  • Robert Danis (1880-1962), general, thoracic, and vascular surgeon, Brussels.  Pioneer of internal fixation techniques 1,4

See also

Updating… Please wait.


Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert_accept Thank you for updating your details.