AAST injury scoring scales

Dr Craig Hacking et al.

The American Association for the Surgery of Trauma (AAST) injury scoring scales are the most widely accepted and used system of classifying and categorizing traumatic injuries. Injury grade reflects severity, guides management, and aids in prognosis. At the time of writing (mid 2016), 32 different injury scores are available. 


The most commonly used injury scoring grades are for the solid viscera: 

These scales for spleen, liver, and kidney injuries have been validated showing that increasing grades of injury correlates with increasing mortality, operative rate, and hospitalisation cost 2

Other scales are less commonly used and include:

  • cervical vascular injury
  • chest wall
  • heart 
  • lung 
  • thoracic vascular injury
  • diaphragm 
  • extrahepatic biliary tree 
  • esophagus 
  • stomach 
  • small bowel 
  • colon 
  • rectum 
  • abdominal vascular injury
  • ureter 
  • bladder 
  • urethra 
  • uterus
    • pregnant
    • non pregnant 
  • fallopian tube 
  • ovary 
  • vagina 
  • vulva 
  • testis 
  • scrotum 
  • penis 
  • peripheral vascular organ injury
Share article

Article information

rID: 40904
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • American Association for the Surgery of Trauma injury grading scores
  • injury grading scores
  • injury score
  • injury grading
  • injury scores
  • injury scoring scales

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.