American Society of Neuroradiology

Last revised by Daniel J Bell on 4 Mar 2022

American Society of Neuroradiology (ASNR) was established in 1962 to ensure that neuroradiologists in the United States could freely exchange ideas and act with a common voice. It publishes the American Journal of Neuroradiology (AJNR) and Neurographics.


At the VIth Symposium Neuroradiologicum held in Rome in 1960, Juan M Taveras (1919-2002) 2 was awarded the Presidency of the VIIth Symposium, to be held for the first time in the United States, in New York in 1964. Dr Taveras was Director of Neuroradiology at the Neurological Institute of Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center in New York City.

Dr Taveras was keen to found a formal learned society to bring together American neuroradiologists, and he sent invites out for a meeting over dinner at Keen's English Chop House in New York for the night of 19 April 1962. His fourteen invitees encompassed a small group of full-time practising neuroradiologists from around the US. 

The foundations of the American Society of Neuroradiology were established at this dinner. Its first President was chosen to be Juan Taveras, the unanimous wish of those in attendance that evening. 

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.