Anterior compartment of the forearm

Last revised by Jeremy Jones on 2 Apr 2023

The forearm is divided into the anterior compartment and the posterior compartment by the deep fascia, lateral intermuscular septum and the interosseous membrane between the ulna and radius

The eight muscles located in the anterior compartment of the forearm can be divided into three layers - superficial, intermediate, and deep 1.

The median nerve supplies the anterior compartment musculature except the ulnar (medial) part of the FDP and FCU muscles, which are supplied by the ulnar nerve

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Cases and figures

  • Figure 1: anterior forearm muscles (Gray's illustrations)
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

     Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

     Thank you for updating your details.