Australian Society of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy (ASMIRT)

Last revised by Amanda Er on 27 Aug 2022

The Australian Society of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy (ASMIRT) is the peak representative body for radiographers and radiation therapists in Australia. The ASMIRT works in conjunction with government level boards, ensuring professional protection to the medical radiation sciences. The society, operating with the educational and standards advisory panel, is responsible for the accreditation of undergraduate degrees in Australia.

Founded in 1923 as the Radiographers Society of Australia, it incorporated as the Australian Institute of Radiography in 1950, eventually assuming its current name in 2016 1.

ASMIRT's current 2 (c. 2022) president is Carolyn Heyes.

The Society is a founding member 3 of a joint committee specializing in radiation oncology, including:

  • Australian Society for Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy
  • Faculty of Radiation Oncology (FRO) of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiology (RANZCR)
  • Australasian College of Physical Scientists and Engineers in Medicine (ASPSEM)
  • Cancer Nurses Society of Australia (CNSA)

The ASMIRT publishes the peer-reviewed journal, Journal of Medical Radiation Sciences (JMRS). Its current Editor in Chief is Cherry Agustin 7.

The Society additionally publishes a regular newsletter, Spectrum 1.

The ASMIRT celebrates various achievements by its Fellows and members. Some of these awards 4 allow acknowledgement by one’s peers of a demonstrated commitment to the professional community and ASMIRT.

In honor of Nicholas Outterside, who was President of the Australian Institute of Radiography in 1950, it is awarded 4 to members who have made significant contributions to the society over many years.

This is a prestigious award 5 made to a practising radiation therapist annually, honoring the most outstanding contributions by them to the profession and in advancing patient care in Australia. 

This award 6 is in tribute to Dr Ian Roos OAM (unknown - 2015), a radiation oncologist. It recognizes any consumer in Australia involved in health care advocacy, particularly in radiation oncology.

As of October 2021 7, ASMIRT has 8797 members from within and outside Australia, comprising of:

  • NSW/ACT 2720
  • VIC 2043
  • SA/NT 901
  • TAS 193
  • WA 589
  • QLD 2293
  • Overseas 58

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.