Binet staging system for chronic lymphocytic leukemia

Last revised by Daniel J Bell on 12 Apr 2018

The Binet staging system is one of the two staging systems currently adopted in assessment of chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL).

It classifies CLL according to the number of lymphoid tissues that are involved (i.e. the spleen and the lymph nodes of the neck, groin, and underarms), as well as the presence of anemia or thrombocytopenia.

  • stage A
    • fewer than three areas of enlarged lymphoid tissue 
    • no anemia
    • no thrombocytopenia
    • * lymphadenopathy in the neck, axiallary, inguinal as well as the splenic invovement, are each considered as "one group," whether unilateral (one-sided) or bilateral (on both sides)
  • stage B
    • three or more areas of enlarged lymphoid tissue 
    • no anemia 
    • no thrombocytopenia
  • stage C
    • patients have anemia and/or thrombocytopenia regardless of lymphadenopathy

See also

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Cases and figures

  • Case 1: Binet stage B
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

     Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

     Thank you for updating your details.