Bony orbit

Last revised by Travis Fahrenhorst-Jones on 11 Feb 2024

The bony orbit refers to the bones that constitute the margins of the orbits, that is the roof, medial and lateral walls and floor. The orbital margin or rim refers to the anterior circular margin of the orbit. The orbital apex refers to the posterior confluence of the orbit, where the optic canal, superior orbital fissure and inferior orbital fissure transmit nerves and vessels into the orbit.

There are seven bones that contribute to the bony orbit:

The four bones of the medial wall are remembered with this mnemonic.

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads