Bouthillier classification of internal carotid artery segments

Dr Craig Hacking and A.Prof Frank Gaillard et al.

Bouthillier et al. described (in 1996) 1 a seven segment internal carotid artery (ICA) classification system. It remains the most widely used system for describing ICA segments at the time of writing (mid-2016).

There are a few other classifications systems including those proposed by Fisher (1938), Gibo (1981), and Lasjaunias (1984) 2.

A helpful mnemonic for remembering ICA segments is: 

  • C'mon Please Learn Carotid Clinical Organizing Classification
  1. cervical segment
  2. petrous segment
  3. lacerum segment
  4. cavernous segment
  5. clinoid segment
  6. ophthalmic (supraclinoid) segment
  7. communicating (terminal) segment
Anatomy: Brain
Anatomy: Head and neck
Share article

Article information

rID: 4714
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Bouthillier classification of ICA segments

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Cases and figures

  • Drag
    Figure 1: DSA
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Drag
    Figure 2: CTA reformats
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

    Alert accept

    Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

    Alert accept Thank you for updating your details.