Cauldwell Classification

Last revised by Frank Gaillard on 07 Jun 2022

Cauldwell classification is a commonly used classification in assessing bronchial artery branching pattern.

The bronchial artery branching pattern is classified into four types based on the number of intercostobronchial trunks (ICBT) - that gives rise to right bronchial artery and posterior intercostal artery - and bronchial arteries 2

  • type l : one right ICBT, two left bronchial arteries.
  • type ll : one right ICBT, one left bronchial artery.
  • type lll : two right (ICBT and right bronchial artery), two left bronchial arteries.
  • type lV : two right (ICBT and right bronchial artery),  one left bronchial artery.

Bronchial artery anatomy was studied by E W Cauldwell on human cadavers and published in 1948 1


ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.