Cervical degenerative spondylosis (grading)

Cervical degenerative disease can be graded using a very old but reliable classification given by Kellgren et al. It is based on findings on a lateral cervical spine radiograph although it can also be applied to MRI evaluation of spine.

The key parameters are osteophyte formation, intervertebral disc height narrowing and vertebral end-plate sclerosis.

  • grade 0 (normal)
    • no degenerative changes
  • grade 1 (minimal/early)
    • minimal anterior osteophyte formation
    • no reduction of intervertebral disc height
    • no vertebral endplate sclerosis
  • grade 2 (mild)
    • definite anterior osteophyte formation
    • subtle or no reduction in Intervertebral disc height (<25%)
    • just recognisable sclerosis of the endplates
  • grade 3 (moderate)
    • definite anterior osteophyte formation
    • moderate narrowing of the disc space (25-75%)
    • definite sclerosis of the endplates and osteophyte sclerosis
  • grade 4 (gross)
    • large and multiple large osteophyte formation is seen
    • severe narrowing of the disc space (>75%)
    • sclerosis of the endplates with irregularities

See also

Share article

Article information

rID: 26707
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Grading of cervical degenerative spondylosis

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.