Chandler classification of orbital infections

Chandler classification is the most commonly used system for dividing the different types of orbital cellulitis. The system describes five stages 1,2 :

  • stage I: preseptal orbital cellulitis with inflammation and edema anterior to the orbital septum.
  • stage II: orbital cellulitis with extension of the inflammation and edema beyond the orbital septum. 
  • stage III: subperiosteal abscess beneath the periosteum of lamina papyracea.
  • stage IV: orbital abscess and purulent collection within orbit. 
  • stage V: cavernous sinus thrombosis after posterior extension of the infection through the superior ophthalmic veins.

Article information

rID: 74034
System: Head & Neck
Section: Staging
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Chandler classification of orbital infection

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Cases and figures

  • Stage I: preseptal periorbital cellulitis
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Stage III : sub-periosteal abscess
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

     Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

     Thank you for updating your details.