Classification of endoleaks

Endoleaks occur when an aneurysmal sac continues to be pressurised despite endoluminal stent placement. See the full article on endoleaks here.


There are five types:

  • type I: leak at graft ends (inadequate seal) - most common after repair of thoracic aortic aneurysms 4
    • Ia: proximal
    • Ib: distal
    • Ic: iliac occluder
  • type II: sac filling via branch vessel (e.g. lumbar or inferior mesenteric artery)
    • most common after repair of abdominal aortic aneurysms 4 (80%)
    • sometimes referred to as a "retroleak"
    • enthusiastic examiners sometimes ask for the eponymous name of the large collateral artery between the IMA and SMA = Riolan's arch
    • most spontaneously resolve and require no treatment
    • IIa: single vessel
    • IIb: two vessels or more
  • type III: leak through a defect in graft fabric (mechanical failure of graft)
    • IIIa: junctional separation of the modular components
    • IIIb: fractures or holes involving the endograft
  • type IV: a generally porous graft (intentional design of graft)
  • type V: endotension

Article information

rID: 1285
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Types of endoleak
  • Endoleak subtypes
  • Endoleak classification

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Cases and figures

  • Figure 1: endoleak classification
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Figure 2: endoleak classification diagram
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Case 1: type 1a
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Case 2: type 2
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Case 3: type 3
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Case 4: type 3b
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

     Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

     Thank you for updating your details.