Egas Moniz

Dr Dan J Bell and Dr Bruno Di Muzio et al.

Antonio Caetano de Abreu Freire Egas Moniz (November 29, 1874 - December 13, 1955) was a Portuguese neurologist that is notable in radiology history for his development of cerebral angiography in 1927. He is also known as the developer of prefrontal leucotomy ​for which he received a Nobel Prize in 1949 (shared with Walter Rudolf Hess).

History of radiology
  • key milestones
    • 1895: Wilhelm Conrad Roentgen detects x-rays
    • 1896: Antoine Henri Becquerel discovers radioactivity
    • 1896: Sydney Rowland founds the first radiology journal, Archives of Clinical Skiagraphy
    • 1896: Thomas Alva Edison invents the first commercially available fluoroscope
    • 1913: Albert Salomon commences research leading to mammography
    • 1927: Egas Moniz develops cerebral angiography
    • 1934: Frederic and Irene Joliot-Curie artificially produce radioisotopes
    • 1936: John Lawrence uses phosphorus-32 to treat leukaemia
    • 1950s: David Edmund Kuhl invents Positron Emission Tomography (PET)
    • 1953: Sven-Ivar Seldinger develops his famous eponymous technique
    • 1957: Ian Donald invents ultrasound
    • 1964: Charles Dotter introduces image-guided intervention
    • 1965: Benjamin Felson publishes Felson's Principles of Chest Roentgenology
    • 1972: Godfrey Hounsfield and Allan MacLeod Cormack invent the CT scanner
    • 1977: Raymond Vahan Damadian builds the first commercial MRI scanner
    • 2005: Frank Gaillard creates :)
  • key figures in the history of radiology
  • history of modalities
    • plain radiography
    • fluoroscopy
    • nuclear medicine
      • PET
        • PET-CT
        • PET-MRI
    • ultrasound
      • Doppler
    • CT
    • MRI
    • interventional radiology
  • history of radiology journals
    • American Journal of Roentgenology (AJR)
    • British Journal of Radiology (BJR)
    • Clinical Radiology
    • Radiology
    • RadioGraphics
  • history of radiology organisations
    • Australia
      • Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists (RANZCR)
    • United Kingdom
      • British Institute of Radiology (BIR)
      • Royal College of Radiologists (RCR)
      • School and College of Radiographers (SCoR)
    • United States
      • American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS)
      • Radiological Society of North America (RSNA)
      • American College of Radiology (ACR)
    • international
      • European Society of Radiology (ESR)
Share article

Article information

rID: 25336
Tags: history, refs
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Cases and figures

  • Drag
    Photography on po...
    Egas Moniz
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

    Alert accept

    Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

    Alert accept Thank you for updating your details.