Fibromuscular dysplasia classification

Fibromuscular dysplasia is classified into 5 categories according to the vessel wall layer affected:

  • intima 
    •  intimal fibroplasia (1%)
  • media 
    • medial dysplasia (70%, the commonest type)
    • perimedial (subadventitial) fibroplasia (15-20%)
    • medial hyperplasia (8-10%)
  • adventitia
    • adventital fibroplasia (1%)
Share article

Article information

rID: 3844
System: Vascular
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Updating… Please wait.

Alert accept

Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert accept Thank you for updating your details.