Fibromuscular dysplasia classification

Last revised by Amir Rezaee on 15 Jun 2015

Fibromuscular dysplasia is classified into 5 categories according to the vessel wall layer affected:

  • intima 
    •  intimal fibroplasia (1%)
  • media 
    • medial dysplasia (70%, the commonest type)
    • perimedial (subadventitial) fibroplasia (15-20%)
    • medial hyperplasia (8-10%)
  • adventitia
    • adventital fibroplasia (1%)

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.