FRCR examination

Last revised by Khalid Alhusseiny on 8 Apr 2023

The FRCR (Fellow of the Royal College of Radiologistsexamination is set by the Royal College of Radiologists (RCR) in the UK. The RCR is the professional body for clinical radiology and clinical oncology.

This article and the subsequent included links are related to the FRCR examination in clinical radiology.

The FRCR examination consists of three parts:

Colloquially First FRCR is known as part 1, Final FRCR Part A is known as part 2A, and Final FRCR Part B is known as part 2B.

Success in all three parts of the FRCR examination, leads to the award of the Fellowship of the Royal College of Radiologists, and entitles the use of the post-nominal letters FRCR.

In the United Kingdom, a specialist needs to hold FRCR (or recognized equivalent qualification) to be on the General Medical Council (GMC) specialty register for clinical radiology, which enables a doctor to work as a consultant radiologist in the UK.


Before the introduction of the FRCR exam, radiologists in the UK studied for the DMRD (Diploma in Medical Radiodiagnosis).

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.