Radiopaedia 2021 UPDATE Conference-only registration is now closed. Late registration for All-Access Pass and Free Country Pass holders ends this Friday - LEARN MORE

Grading of brachial plexus injuries

According to CT myelography, brachial plexus injuries can be classified into six types 1:

  • N type: normal root sleeve and nerve roots
  • A1 type: slightly deformed root sleeves and nerve roots as compared to unaffected site
  • A2 type: obliteration of the tip of root sleeves and deformed thickened nerve root
  • A3 type: obliteration of the tip of root sleeves and absent nerve root
  • D type: root sleeve defect
  • M type: traumatic meningocele (avulsion pseudomeningocele) formation

Image and illustration examples for each of the types above are shown in Yoshikawa et al. 2006 2.

Article information

rID: 24545
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Brachial plexus injury grading

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Cases and figures

  • Case 1 - M type
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Case 1 - M type
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

     Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

     Thank you for updating your details.