Harris classification of acetabular fractures

Last revised by Henry Knipe on 27 Feb 2020

The Harris classification of acetabular fractures is based on definitions of acetabular walls and columns that differ from the Judet and Letournel classification 1.


The Judet and Letournel classification is more widely used and is applicable to both CT and plain radiographs, whereas, the Harris classification is applicable to CT only 2,3


The Harris classification defines acetabular fractures in four categories 1,2:

  • category 0: anterior wall or posterior wall only
  • category 1: single-column fractures
  • category 2: both columns (i.e. transverse)
    • 2a: no extension
    • 2b: superior extension
    • 2c: inferior extension
    • 2d: superior and inferior extension
  • category 3: acetabular dissociated from the axial skeleton

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads