Harris classification of acetabular fractures

The Harris classification of acetabular fractures is based on definitions of acetabular walls and columns that differ from the Judet and Letournel classification 1.


The Judet and Letournel classification is more widely used and is applicable to both CT and plain radiographs, whereas, the Harris classification is applicable to CT only 2,3


The Harris classification defines acetabular fractures in four categories 1,2:

  • category 0: anterior wall or posterior wall only
  • category 1: single-column fractures
  • category 2: both columns (i.e. transverse)
    • 2a: no extension
    • 2b: superior extension
    • 2c: inferior extension
    • 2d: superior and inferior extension
  • category 3: acetabular dissociated from the axial skeleton

Article information

rID: 71810
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Harris classification (acetebular fracture)

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.