Herbert classification of scaphoid fractures

Last revised by Leonardo Lustosa on 3 Apr 2023

The Herbert classification of scaphoid fractures, also known as the Herbert and Fisher classification, is one of the most frequently used classification systems when assessing scaphoid fractures.

The Herbert classification is proposed to provide a guide to the management of these fractures.


The system considers both acute and subacute/chronic fractures.

  • type A: acute stable fracture
    • A1: fracture of the tubercle
    • A2: undisplaced waist fracture
  • type B: acute unstable fracture
    • B1: oblique fracture of the distal third
    • B2: displaced or unstable fracture of the waist
    • B3: proximal pole fracture
    • B4: fracture-dislocation of the carpus
    • B5: comminuted fracture
  • type C: delayed union
  • type D: non-union

See also

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.