Inner ear

Last revised by Kieran Kusel on 22 Feb 2020

The inner ear refers to the bony labyrinth, the membranous labyrinth and their contents. It may also be referred to as the vestibulocochlear organ, supplied by the vestibulocochlear nerve (CN VIII)It is divided into three main parts:

As the membranous labyrinth is slightly smaller than the osseous labyrinth, the two are separated by perilymph, which does not communicate with the endolymph contained in the membranous labyrinth.

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Cases and figures

  • Figure 1: anatomy of the inner ear
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Figure 2: middle and inner ears structures
    Drag here to reorder.