International System of Units

Dr Daniel J Bell et al.

The International System of Units, or the SI units (shortened from the French Système international d'unités) is the globally-adopted system of units of measurement. It is the modern iteration of the metric system. It superseded all prior systems including CGS and MKS, although in certain fields, including radiation physics, some legacy units linger, especially in the USA, e.g. rad

Seven base units are defined:

  1. second (s) (time)
  2. meter (m) (distance)
  3. kilogram (kg) (mass)
  4. ampere (A) (current)
  5. kelvin (K) (temperature)
  6. mole (mol) (amount of substance)
  7. candela (cd) (luminous intensity)

All other units can be derived from these base units and are known as the derived SI units, e.g. hertz.

See also

Imaging physics

Article information

rID: 58659
Tag: refs, refs, refs
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Derived SI units
  • Derived SI unit
  • SI derived units
  • SI base units
  • SI units
  • Système international d'unités
  • International Unit System
  • Systeme international d'unites (SI units)

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.