ISAKOS classification of meniscal tears

Last revised by Yuranga Weerakkody on 5 Dec 2022

ISAKOS classification of meniscal tears classifies meniscal tears based on arthroscopic evaluation 1.


The classification system is primarily developed for surgical documentation of meniscal tears and it has shown good inter-observer reliability amongst surgeons 2,3.


 Tear depth

  • partial

  • complete

Rim width

  • based on circumferential location – classified into zones 1,2 and 3.

Radial location

  • tear is posterior, mid body or anterior

Whether tear is central to popliteal hiatus or not

Tear pattern

Quality of tissue

  • degenerative

  • non-degenerative

  • undetermined

Length of tear of in millimeters (mm)

Indicate amount and percent of meniscus excised

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.