Judet and Letournel classification for acetabular fractures

The Judet and Letournel classification is the most widely used classification of acetabular fractures.

It is based on three radiographic views (anteroposterior view, obturator oblique view and Iliac oblique view)  and classifies acetabular fractures into ten major fracture patterns, which consist of five simple patterns and five complex patterns.

Elementary patterns

The five simple fractures are the following:    

  1. posterior wall    
  2. posterior column    
  3. transverse
  4. anterior column
  5. anterior wall


The five associated patterns are combinations of the simple patterns:

  1. posterior column + posterior wall fractures
  2. transverse +  posterior wall fractures    
  3. T-shaped  fracture
  4. anterior wall/column + posterior hemi-transverse fracture   
  5. bilateral-column fracture

Share article

Article information

rID: 46832
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Judet and Letournel acetabular fracture classification

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Cases and figures

  • Drag
    Figure 1: Judet and Letournel classification
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

    Alert accept

    Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

    Alert accept Thank you for updating your details.