Landells classification of atlas fractures

Last revised by Francis Deng on 17 Jan 2022

The Landells (and van Peteghem) classification of fractures of the atlas is one of the commonly used systems to describe C1 vertebral injuries.


Fractures are classified by their involvement of the C1 anterior arch, posterior arch, and/or lateral mass 1:

  • type I: confined to either the anterior or posterior arch
  • type IIinvolves both anterior and posterior arches
  • type III: primarily lateral mass fracture, extending into one arch only

The classic Jefferson fracture is a type II fracture.

See also

Other classifications of atlas fractures exist:

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.