Liver cancer (BCLC staging)

Barcelona clinic liver cancer (BCLC) staging uses a set of criteria to guide management of patients with hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC).

The classification takes the following variables into account 1,2:

The classification system sorts patients into one of four categories:

  • stage 0 (very early stage)
    • asymptomatic early tumours
    • resection
  • stage A (early stage)
    • asymptomatic early tumours
    • resection, percutaneous ablation, transplantation
  • stage B (intermediate stage)
    • asymptomatic multinodular tumours
    • intra-arterial therapies (chemoembolisation and radioembolisation)
  • stage C (advanced stage)
    • symptomatic tumours and/or invasive tumours
    • sorafenib, phase II trial agents, or palliative treatments
  • stage D (end-stage disease)
Share article

Article information

rID: 34362
Section: Staging
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Barcelona criteria
  • BCLC staging system

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Cases and figures

  • Drag
    Figure 1a
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Drag
    Figure 1b
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Drag
    Figure 1c
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

    Alert accept

    Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

    Alert accept Thank you for updating your details.