Major salivary glands

Last revised by Yoshi Yu on 6 Apr 2023

The major salivary glands are the three large paired salivary glands and comprise of:

  • parotid glands

    • largest of the major glands

    • produces mainly serous saliva

    • responsible for most of the saliva during meals and mastication

  • submandibular glands

    • second largest

    • produces mixed mucous and serous saliva

  • sublingual glands

    • smallest of the major glands

    • produces mainly mucous saliva

    • only major salivary gland that does not contain a capsule

Related pathology

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Cases and figures

  • Figure 1: major salivary glands
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Figure 2
    Drag here to reorder.