Mayfield classification of carpal instability (perilunate instability)

Last revised by Andrew Murphy on 1 Aug 2020

Mayfield classification of carpal instability, also known as perilunate instability classification (carpal dislocations), describes carpal ligament injuries. 

Instability has been divided into four stages 1-2:

History and etymology

This classification was described by Mayfield et al. in 1980 1.

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.