Mayo classification of olecranon fractures

Last revised by Leonardo Lustosa on 20 Mar 2022

The Mayo classification of olecranon fractures is one of the most frequently used classification systems when assessing olecranon fractures.

The Mayo classification can be used to aid in treatment choice. Mayo type II and III fractures usually require operative treatment.


The Mayo classification system accounts for fracture displacement and elbow stability, being divided into three types. These groups are subdivided regarding whether there is comminution or not. These characteristics allow for a good indication of treatment and prognosis.

Type I
  • type IA: undisplaced non-comminuted
  • type IB: undisplaced comminuted
Type II
  • type IIA: displaced non-comminuted
  • type IIB: displaced comminuted
Type III
  • type IIIA: unstable non-comminuted
  • type IIIB: unstable comminuted

See also


ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Cases and figures

  • Figure 1: Mayo classification
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

     Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

     Thank you for updating your details.