Mayo classification of scaphoid fractures

Last revised by Ayla Al Kabbani on 02 Aug 2021

Mayo classification of scaphoid fractures divides them into three types according to the anatomic location of the fracture line:

  • middle (70%)
  • distal (20%)
  • proximal (10%)

Fractures of the distal third are further divided into distal articular surface and distal tubercle fractures:

  • distal tubercle third fracture
  • distal articular surface fracture
  • distal third fracture
  • middle third fracture
  • proximal third fracture

The location of the fracture has important implications on the risk of AVN and, therefore, management.

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Cases and figures

  • Figure 1: Mayo classification
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Figure 2: scaphoid (illustration)
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Case 1: middle
    Drag here to reorder.