Mayo classification of scaphoid fractures

Mayo classification of scaphoid fractures divides them into three types according to the anatomic location of the fracture line:

  • middle (70%)
  • distal (20%)
  • proximal (10%)

Fractures of the distal third are further divided into distal articular surface and distal tubercle fractures:

  • distal tubercle third fracture
  • distal articular surface fracture
  • distal third fracture
  • middle third fracture
  • proximal third fracture

The location of the fracture has important implications on the risk of AVN and, therefore, management.


Article information

rID: 39981
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Mayo's classification of scaphoid fractures
  • Mayo classification

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Cases and figures

  • Figure 1: Mayo classification
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Figure 2: scaphoid (illustration)
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Case 1: middle
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

     Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

     Thank you for updating your details.