Mesial temporal lobe

Last revised by Yaïr Glick on 24 Jan 2020

The mesial temporal lobe, also known as the medial temporal lobe, is, as the name suggests, located on the medial aspect of the temporal lobe and is distinct from the rest of the lobe, which is composed of neocortex.

 The term comprises five structures: 

  1. amygdala
  2. hippocampus
  3. uncus
  4. dentate gyrus
  5. parahippocampal gyrus

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads