Metabolic syndrome

Dr Daniel J Bell et al.

The metabolic syndrome, also known as syndrome X, is a set of five conditions, which together increase a patient's risk of developing cardiovascular disease 1.

Clinical presentation

There are five central components of the metabolic syndrome:

  1. hyperinsulinemia
  2. impaired glucose tolerance
  3. dyslipidemia
  4. hypertension
  5. centripetal obesity

It has been recognized for more than thirty years that the key metabolic phenomenon underlying the five elements of the metabolic syndrome is the development of insulin resistance 1.


The clinical diagnosis of metabolic syndrome relies upon measuring central adiposity, glucose tolerance, blood pressure and serum lipid levels.

History and etymology

The interconnectedness of these five entities was recognized decades ago, but the term metabolic syndrome was not coined until 1988 by Reaven in the annual Banting lecture 2.

Share article

Article information

rID: 61725
System: Vascular, Cardiac
Section: Syndromes
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Syndrome X

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.