Mitchell classification of avascular necrosis

Mitchell classification of avascular necrosis is based on MRI signal characteristics within the centre of the lesion on T1 and T2-weighted images.

The lesion is classified into four stages with stage A representing early disease and stage D representing late disease. However, the signal intensity of more than one stage can be found in a single lesion.

  • stage A
    • T1: hyperintense
    • T2: intermediate
    • signal analogous to that of fat
  • stage B
    • T1: hyperintense
    • T2: hyperintense
    • signal analogous to that of subacute blood
  • stage C
    • T1: hypointense
    • T2: hyperintense
    • signal analogous to that of fluid/oedema
  • stage D
    • T1: hypointense
    • T2: hypointense
    • signal analogous to that of fibrosis

This classification was described by D G Mitchell et al. in 1987 1.

Share article

Article information

rID: 49669
Tags: cases, cases
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Mitchell classification of AVN
  • Mitchell classification of aseptic necrosis
  • MRI staging of AVN
  • MRI staging of avascular necrosis

Updating… Please wait.

Alert accept

Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert accept Thank you for updating your details.