Necrotising enterocolitis (staging)

Necrotising enterocolitis (NEC) can be staged into three groups, helping to guide appropriate treatment. In general, stage I and II are managed medically whereas stage III is managed surgically.

  • stage I
    • clinical signs
      • lethargy, temperature instability, apnoea, bradycardia
      • emesis, abdominal distension, haematochezia
    • radiographic findings
      • intestinal dilatation
    • treatment
      • oral feeding cessation
      • parenteral nutrition
      • nasogastric tube suction
      • antibiotics
  • stage II
    • IIa: mildly ill
    • IIb: moderately ill
    • clinical signs
      • as in stage I
      • metabolic acidosis, thrombocytopenia
      • abdominal tenderness, absent bowel signs
    • radiographic findings
    • treatment
      • as in stage I
      • correction of metabolic acidosis
  • stage IIIa: shock
    • clinical signs
      • as in stage II
      • respiratory or circulatory arrest
    • radiographic findings
      • as in stage II
      • ascites
    • treatment
      • inotropes, etc.
      • as in stage II
  • stage IIIb: perforation
    • clinical signs: any
    • radiographic findings: pneumoperitoneum
    • treatment: surgery
Share article

Article information

rID: 8456
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Staging of necrotising enterocolitis
  • Necrotizing enterocolitis staging
  • Staging of necrotizing enterocolitis

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Updating… Please wait.

Alert accept

Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert accept Thank you for updating your details.