2020 April Fools' Case: Normally we'd prank you with this but given the current COVID-19 crisis we decided just to release it straight up without trying to trick anyone. Hopefully you can at least still enjoy a little laugh at this difficult time - view case

Neimeier classification of gallbladder perforation

The classification of gallbladder perforation was proposed by Neimeier and later modified by Anderson et al. in 1987, which at the time of writing (July 2016) remains the most widely accepted classification for gall bladder perforation.

According to this classification, there are three main clinical sub types. A fourth type is suggested by Andersen et al. 1:

  • type I: acute free perforation
  • type II: subacute pericholecystic abscess
  • type III: chronic cholecystoenteric fistulation
  • type IV: cholecystobiliary fistula formation
Share article

Article information

rID: 46365
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Neimeier classification
  • Classification of gall bladder perforation

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Cases and figures

  • Cholecystoenteric fistula
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

     Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

     Thank you for updating your details.