Neimeier classification of gallbladder perforation

The classification of gallbladder perforation was proposed by Neimeier and later modified by Anderson et al. in 1987, which at the time of writing (July 2016) remains the most widely accepted classification for gall bladder perforation.

According to this classification, there are three main clinical sub types. A fourth type is suggested by Andersen et al. 1:

  • type I: acute free perforation
  • type II: subacute pericholecystic abscess
  • type III: chronic cholecystoenteric fistulation
  • type IV: cholecystobiliary fistula formation
Share article

Article information

rID: 46365
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Neimeier classification
  • Classification of gall bladder perforation

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Cases and figures

  • Cholecystoenteric fistula
    Drag here to reorder.