Osteochondritis dissecans surgical staging system

Osteochondritis dissecans can be classified at surgery into 4 stages:

  • stage I
    • stable
    • lesion in continuity with the host bone
    • covered by intact cartilage
  • stage II
    • stable on probing
    • partial discontinuity of the lesion from the host bone
  • stage III
    • unstable on probing
    • fragment not dislocated
    • complete discontinuity of the "dead in situ" lesion
  • stage IV
    • dislocated fragment

Classification according to International Cartilage Repair Society.

Of course distinguishing stage II from III can be difficult on MRI.

Edit Article Share Article

Article Information

rID: 7556
System: Musculoskeletal
Tag: knee
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:

Updating… Please wait.


Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert_accept Thank you for updating your details.