Osteochondritis dissecans (surgical staging)

Last revised by Jeremy Jones on 19 Feb 2018

Osteochondritis dissecans can be classified at surgery into 4 stages:

  • stage I
    • stable
    • lesion in continuity with the host bone
    • covered by intact cartilage
  • stage II
    • stable on probing
    • partial discontinuity of the lesion from the host bone
  • stage III
    • unstable on probing
    • fragment not dislocated
    • complete discontinuity of the "dead in situ" lesion
  • stage IV
    • dislocated fragment

Classification according to International Cartilage Repair Society.

Of course distinguishing stage II from III can be difficult on MRI.

See also

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.