Pulmonary sarcoidosis (staging on chest radiograph)

Pulmonary sarcoidosis may be classified on a chest radiograph into 5 stages (Scadding criteria) 1,2:

  • stage 0: normal chest radiograph
    • 5-10% of patients at presentation
  • stage I: hilar or mediastinal nodal enlargement only
    • 45-65% of patients at presentation
    • 60% go onto a complete resolution
  • stage II: nodal enlargement and parenchymal disease
    • 25-30% of patients at presentation
  • stage III: parenchymal disease only
    • 15% of patients at presentation
  • stage IV: end-stage lung (pulmonary fibrosis)

Although in general patients progress from one stage to the next this system does not correlate particularly well with clinical severity 1,2. In fact, chest x-ray appearances often are more dramatic than functional impairment 2.

Share article

Article information

rID: 4997
System: Chest
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Sarcoidosis on chest radiograph
  • Sarcoidosis on CXR classification
  • Chest x-ray staging of sarcoidosis
  • Chest radiograph staging of pulmonary sarcoidosis

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Cases and figures

  • Case 1: stage I
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Case 2: stage II
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Case 3: stage IV
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

     Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

     Thank you for updating your details.