Quadriceps muscles

Last revised by Calum Worsley on 21 Dec 2022

The quadriceps are a group of four muscles in the anterior compartment of the thigh that connect to the patella via the quadriceps tendon. They act on the knee joint to produce leg extension. Rectus femoris also acts on the hip joint as a thigh flexor. The muscles are located:

All four muscles are innervated by the femoral nerve (L2-4). 

See also

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads