Quadriceps muscles

Dr Henry Knipe and Assoc Prof Craig Hacking et al.

The quadriceps is the group of four muscles in the anterior compartment of the thigh that connect to the patella via the quadriceps tendon. The muscles are located:

All four muscles are innervated by the femoral nerve.

See also

Anatomy: Lower limb

Anatomy: Lower limb

Article information

rID: 40223
Section: Anatomy
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Quadriceps muscle
  • Quadriceps
  • Quads

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.