Rai staging system for chronic lymphoid leukaemia

Dr Owen Kang and Dr Yuranga Weerakkody et al.

The Rai staging system is one of the two staging systems currently adopted in assessment of chronic lymphocytic leukaemia (CLL).

It comprises of stages 0 to IV and classifies chronic lymphocytic leukemia into low, intermediate and high-risk categories, which correspond with stages 0, I & II, and III & IV, respectively:

  • Rai stage 0
    • low risk
    • lymphocytosis: a high lymphocyte count defined as more than 15,000 lymphocytes per cubic millimeter (> 15,000/mm3)
  • Rai stage I
  • Rai stage II
    • patients are also intermediate risk
    • lymphocytosis plus an enlarged liver (hepatomegaly) or enlarged spleen (splenomegaly), with or without lymphadenopathy
  • Rai stage III
    • patients are high-risk
    • lymphocytosis plus anaemia with or without lymphadenopathy, hepatomegaly, or splenomegaly
  • Rai stage IV
    • high-risk
    • lymphocytosis + thrombocytopenia (< 100-103 /dL)

See also

Edit Article Share Article

Article Information

rID: 12672
System: Haematology
Section: Staging
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Rai staging of chronic lymphoid leukaemia
  • Rai staging of CLL

Updating… Please wait.


Error Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

Alert_accept Thank you for updating your details.