Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists

Last revised by Joshua Yap on 11 May 2023

The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists (RANZCR) is the peak professional body responsible for the oversight and practice of both clinical radiology and radiation oncology in Australia and New Zealand. RANZCR also recognizes several training sites in Singapore. The college is responsible for the training and assessment of doctors working towards the post-graduate qualification of Fellowship of the College (FRANZCR).

RANZCR was founded in 1935, and up until 1998, it was known as the College of Radiologists (Australia and New Zealand). The head office is located in Sydney, Australia. Its motto, as displayed on the crest, is "lumen afferimus morbis", meaning "we cast light on disease".

The current (c. 2023) President of RANZCR is Clinical Associate Professor Sanjay Jeganathan.

The College is divided into two faculties: the Faculty of Clinical Radiology and the Faculty of Radiation Oncology, and is organized into eight Branch Committees (each Australian state, the Australian Capital Territory, and New Zealand) 2

There are numerous Special Interest Groups established by RANZCR, including for radiology:

  • Australian and New Zealand Society of Thoracic Radiology (ANZSTR)

  • Australian and New Zealand Society for Pediatric Radiology (ANZSPR)

  • Abdominal Radiology Group Australia and New Zealand (ARGANZ)

  • Australian and New Zealand Emergency Radiology Group (ANZERG)

  • Australian and New Zealand Rural Radiology Special Interest Group (ANZRRSIG)

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology Special Interest Group (OGSIG)

The RANZCR Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) is held in October every year in a different capital city in either Australia or New Zealand.

RANZCR publishes the peer-reviewed journal, Journal of Medical Imaging and Radiation Oncology (JMIRO). Its current (c. 2023) Editor in Chief is Professor Michael Barton, OAM.

As of 2022, RANZCR has 4966 members including 4202 radiologists and 764 radiation oncologists. Of these, 3384 (68%) are male and 1582 (32%) are female 3.

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.